Home About New Delhi New Delhi Government

New Delhi Government

As of 2005, the government structure of the New Delhi Municipal Council includes a chairperson, three members of New Delhi's Legislative Assembly, two members nominated by the Chief Minister of National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT) and five members nominated by the central government.

The current Chief Minister of the NCT is Sheila Dikshit. According to the Indian constitution, if a law passed by Delhi's legislative assembly is repugnant to any law passed by the Parliament of India, then the law enacted by the parliament shall prevail over the law enacted by the assembly.

New Delhi is governed through a municipal government, known as the New Delhi Municipal Council. Other urban areas of the metropolis of Delhi are administered by the Municipal Corporation of Delhi. However, the entire metropolis of Delhi is commonly known as New Delhi in contrast to Old Delhi.

 International organizations
The city is home to numerous international organizations. The Asian and Pacific Centre for Transfer of Technology of the UNESCAP servicing the Asia-Pacific region is headquartered in New Delhi. New Delhi is home to most UN regional offices in India namely the UNDP, UNODC, UNESCO, UNICEF, WFP, UNV, UNCTAD, FAO, UNFPA, WHO, World Bank, IMF, UNIFEM, IFC and UNAIDS.

Read more: Exploring the traditional villages in Ben Tre, guests can discover more cultural beauty of the land of coconut making, will make visitors not surprised and satisfied.
Voyagez hanoi lac ba be pour vous réjouir
Stay on Halong Bay by the different way of Orchid Cruise team. Launched in 2016, Orchid Cruise Halong offers a fantastic itinerary and luxury experience. Click to the link, then seeing how Orchid Cruise is great.
To be one of the most interesting cities of the World, Hanoi and its culture is fantastic for exploring. Let's Hanoi cultural tour lead you to the hihglights of culture & history.